

Edvard Thomsens Vej 14 2300 København S Telefon Fax 7221 8888 dla@trafikstyrelsen.dk www.trafikstyrelsen.dk

Notat

Dato 26. juni 2013

## "Safety-bidrag" (Safety contribution duty) is implemented by 1 July 2013

The Safety contribution duty is the payment for the continuing surveillance of civil aviation carried out by the Danish Transport Authority. It replaces previous arrangements with annual charges and annual fees.<sup>1</sup>

The Safety contribution duty is introduced by an amendment to the Danish Air Navigation Act (Act No. 655 of 12 June 2013), applicable from 1 July 2013.

The airlines shall pay a Safety contribution duty of DKK 6.00 for each passenger the airline transports.

The Safety contribution duty shall be paid when an airline use an aircraft which is approved for more than 10 passenger seats or a maximum take-off mass of more than 5,700 kg and when the flight departs from a Danish aero-drome the use for flights of which is open to the public (airports).

Safety contribution duties shall not be paid for

- Passengers under 2 years of age
- Transit and transfer passengers
- Airline staff on duty

## Implication for passengers

The airlines may charge the Safety contribution duty of DKK 6.00 in the passengers' tickets and name it "Safety-bidrag (Safety contribution duty)".

## Implication for the airlines

The airlines will monthly receive an invoice regarding the Safety contribution duty from the Danish Transport Authority per airport on which they operate. The basis for the invoicing is monthly reports from the airports on the number of departing passengers subject to Safety contribution duty per airline.



<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Greenland and the Faroe Islands are not included in the arrangement with Safety contribution duty